My HP Favorites

This one is going to be a long one, so buckle down!

As you don’t know unless you personally know me (which is probably the case since most of the “you” reading my blog are my extremely supportive friends), I love Harry Potter.

And when I say love, I don’t mean this:

Stranger: Hey, do you know Harry Potter?

Me: Yes, of course! I’ve read all the books and seen the movies. They are awesome! I wish I could go to Hogwarts and be a wizard. That would be dope AF.

I mean this:

Stranger: Hey, do you know Harry Potter?

Me: Do I? DO I???!! HOW DARE YOU ASK ME THAT QUESTION, PEASANT?! HARRY POTTER IS MY LIFE. J.K. ROWLING IS A WISE AND BEAUTIFUL GOLDEN-HAIRED GODDESS, MY ALL-KNOWING QUEEN AND SUPREME RULER. HOGWARTS IS MY HOME. ALWAYS…always… *hysterical sobs*

~4 hours later~

Stranger: Umm… are you okay?

Me: NO! CAN’T YOU SEE I’M A GLASS CASE OF EMOTIONS?! *more sobbing*

Yeah, that’s me alright.

Asking me about Harry Potter is like coming back home and opening the door of your childhood closet for the first time in 10 years. What ensues is a flood of crying and yelling, until you are completely buried in years and years of nostalgia, strong opinions and feels on feels on feels.

I can’t remember how many arguments I’ve had with my friends over the nuances of sorting like whether Hamilton is a very motivated, albeit ambitious Ravendor or a proud Slytherclaw. Crucial difference. And many a friendship has been precariously close to breaking post heated Romione vs. Harmony discussions. (We all know Romione is the ultimate OTP so let’s not even joke).

I’m also not ashamed to say that I’ve totally judged people’s character based on their opinions on Hufflepuff, and still cry when I see a lonely sock left in my laundry hamper (R.I.P. Dobby *more sobbing*).

It’s safe to say that Harry Potter is an important part of my life. Everything from years of merchandise to moral lessons, to dragging my friends to movie premieres and HP trivia games, cosplaying, movie marathons, read-a-thons, fanfiction, etc.

So, it’s no surprise that I decided to christen my blog with my own *insert epic voice* HARRY POTTER TAG. I’ve actually borrowed some questions from The Ultimate Harry Potter Tag, a list I found while sneaking around the interwebs, and remixed them with some of my own so here it goes.

Bring it on, suckers!

#1) What’s your favorite book?

Oh, this one’s easy. Order of the Phoenix. I love the Order. I love the teen rebel spirit of Dumbledore’s Army. I hate Umbridge with the passion of a thousand suns, but she is such a horrible human being she makes for a great villain.

And that Department of Mysteries scene at the end of the novel… MIND BLOWING! So mad it didn’t make it into the movies because it would have been like crack for the special effects team.

But I also love Order of the Phoenix because it’s more than all of those awesome moments. It’s a really emotional book that is not only about #teenfeels but about the consequences of heroism and the loneliness of growing up.

#2) What’s your favorite movie?

In terms of book to movie accuracy: Deathly Hallows, Part 1

In terms of how many times in one movie I break out into sobs because I can’t even with my feels: Sorcerer’s Stone/Philosopher’s Stone (It’s so iconic how can you not?)

I know that feel, Harry.

#3) Who’s your favorite character?

Hermione Granger and Sirius Black. Both very different people, but both true Gryffindors to the end. I love them so much.

Hermione is what I aspire to be. Intelligent. Resourceful. Forward-thinking.

And Sirius gives me too many feelings. He is a tortured black sheep, but true and loyal, and willing to die rather than betray his friends. His friendship with James is one for the BFF Hall of Fame. #SOMUCHFRIENDSHIP

Untitled

#BROTP

P.S. If you haven’t read J.K. Rowling’s James and Sirius prequel, WHAT ARE YOU EVEN DOING WITH YOUR LIFE?

#4) Who would be your Hogwarts BFF?

Neville. He’s my boy. Oh, and Luna. We would make for an amazing trio: Neville being his cute sensitive, badass self, Luna being just a precious snowflake of wisdom and confidence, and me being derpy me, but staying strong.

#5) Who’s your HP crush?

Gahhh, look at this sexy man.

Sirius. I mean, c’mon! Also, two words: GARY OLDMAN.
That’s all you need in life! His Sirius gave me all them butterflies when I was 12 and first saw the movie.

Honorable mentions: Hermione, Neville, Fred and George (package deal only), Oliver Wood, Tonks and Remus.

#6) Which character is your spirit animal?

After much deliberation, Pau and I came to the conclusion that my spirit animal is totally Remus Lupin. I wanted it to be Hermione, but let’s be serious, she is way more put together than I am.

#MOONYRULES

Lupin is caring, smart and a very loyal friend. He is an intellectual and tries to be the voice of reason as counselor and teacher. I would like to think that I strive to be all of that even if I still fail miserably at it.

And Remus also fails. He struggles with his own insecurities and limitations, and has moments of doubt when he feels like an outsider and a burden. He is a very sensitive and intuitive person, who sometimes makes the wrong choice out of fear, but tries to pick himself back up when it counts.

Like me he needs to work on his confidence, so makes sense. Moving on!

#7) What’s your favorite spell?

Lumos!

#8) What’s your favorite quote?

There are so many good ones. Here are some of my favorites. Cue the tears.

  1. Wit beyond measure is man’s greatest treasure. (#HOUSEPRIDE)
  2. Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on Earth should that mean that it is not real? (This one is so good!)
  3. Happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light. (Oh, Dumbledore, you wise candy cane!)
  4. Books! And cleverness! There are more important things — friendship and bravery. (You are so right, Hermione! The friendship kills meeee!)
  5. After all this time? Always. (Stop it! You are breaking my heart!! *more sobs*)

(This entire tag is me just crying all over my face. I can’t…)

#9) What’s your HP OTP?

Look at these adorable cuties. *-*

For all of those who don’t know, an OTP is a One True Pairing.

It’s that relationSHIP you root for to the ends of the universe and back. So strong that you have cried more over their fictional romance than over your own romantic fails. So deep that you have eaten tubs upon tubs of ice cream as you waited in suspense to see what happened next. Yes, that’s right! This is my life.

My Harry Potter OTP is non other than Hermione and Ron. I’ve shipped that since book 1 when all you, suckers, were shipping Harry and Hermione. Yeah, I went there! THEY ARE MEANT TO BE!!!

#10) Who’s your favorite Weasley?

Fred. Definitely, Fred… I can’t even talk about it. Also, I’ve read way too many sad George fanfics for it to ever be okay.

Fred may be my favorite, but I’m also very protective of Ron. So watch it, or I swear I will pull out those razor blades from my hair…

#11) What’s your favorite Hogwarts class?

Charms. I love spells! I totally was that kid that spent a whole summer making an awesome encyclopedia of every spell and jinx on PowerPoint. It was beautiful! I never finished it though because halfway through it I realized there were way too many spells and I needed to actually socialize with other human beings.

Also, I know that Flitwick would absolutely love me because I am a total teacher’s pet and don’t even care.

#12) Who’s your favorite professor?

YAAAAS, QUEEN!

I want to say Snape because I love him, but I think as a student I would have been too terrified to learn anything in his class. I feel so much for pre-Deathly Hallows Neville. I get you.

So, I chose McGonagall instead. She is smart, assertive, brave and compassionate. She is a great teacher, a total Gryffindor fangirl, AND she’s a BOSS ASS LADY.

I mean she’s an animagus for crying out loud. Can’t get any cooler than that.

Also this moment:

‘Is it true that you shouted at Professor Umbridge?’
‘Yes,’ said Harry.
‘You called her a liar?’
‘Yes.’
‘You told her He Who Must Not Be Named is back?’
‘Yes.’
Professor McGonagall sat down behind her desk, frowning at Harry. Then she said, ‘Have a biscuit, Potter.’

Argh, so GREAT!

WOULD YOU RATHER: FLASH ROUND

#13) Would you rather: A) wash Snape’s hair or B) spend a day listening to Lockhart rant about himself?

Oh, God. Umm… Snape. Definitely, Snape. I mean, how greasy could it be?

#14) Would you rather duel: A) an elated Bellatrix or B) an angry Molly?

Bellatrix. She may be crazy AF, but if Harry Potter and years of being attacked by ducks has taught me anything is to never cross an angry mother out for blood.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#15) Would you rather travel to Hogwarts via: A) Hogwarts Express or B) flying car?

Hogwarts Express. It’s classic. How can you not? Besides I can barely drive a normal car as it is, so a flying car would be a terrible idea. You would be surprised how many times I have almost crashed into my own house.

#16) Would you rather: A) kiss Voldemort or B) give Umbridge a bubble bath?

Argh… Argh… Why? Can I kiss young Tom Riddle Voldemort? Because that I can do. Oh, yeaaaaa…

#17) Would you rather: A) ride a Hippogriff or B) ride a Firebolt?

I want to say hippogriff because #THATWingSpan though. But I also have weird delusions that if I went to Hogwarts I would suddenly be super into sports, try out for the Ravenclaw Quidditch team, wow them all with my natural talent, become the star chaser, win the House Cup and ride my Firebolt into the sunset with hottie Oliver Woods from Sorcerer’s Stone.

*sigh* A girl can dream, right?

But in all honesty I am neither outdoorsy nor sporty, so I don’t know how realistic that is.

MISCELLANEOUS

#18) If you could remake any of the Harry Potter movies which would it be?

Half-Blood Prince. It just has so many issues, especially the ending. They should have included that battle at Hogwarts because without it the motives for Draco trying so hard to get Bella and the gang through the vanishing cabinets seem non-existent. Also, where the eff are all the professors while this is going on? Snoozing? Sipping on their tea? And where is the Order? Gah, just thinking about it gets my wand in a knot.

Also, I can’t even with the Harry/Ginny kiss scene. The most awkward thing I have ever seen. I’m so, so sorry, Dan and Bonnie, but you awkward AF.

#19) If you could bring one character back to life, which would it be?

As much as I want to say Sirius because he’s my baby. I think if I could bring anyone back it would be Fred. George needs him, man.

#20) Which house was your first gut feeling you’d be a part of?

Gryffindor.

Okay, I know everyone wants to be a Gryffindor, or whatever, but I actually had good reasons. And they were not just because I wanted to be Harry’s BFF. Though I do want to and he is, but that’s beside the point. I thought I would be a Gryffindor because I value courage and I wanted to be a more courageous and confident person.

#21) Which house were you actually sorted into on Pottermore?

Ravenclaw. At first I was super bummed. I remember I got the email that my beta account had been activated and I locked myself in my room for like an hour to take the test. (I know it’s only like 8 questions, but don’t judge. It was a matter of life and death!)


In any case, I got Ravenclaw and cried all the tears. But then I read the welcome letter, mulled it over for a few weeks, and realized that I am the epitome of Ravenclaw and should stop being a butt about it.

Thus, now I am a totally obnoxious Ravenclaw fangirl. #HOUSEPRIDE #WITBEYONDMEASURE #IWILLCRUSHYOU

—————

Phew! That’s it! I know that was long AF so thanks for sticking with this to the very end. (*more and more sobs*)

Hogwarts will forever be my home. Always.

I cried, laughed out loud, ranted for days, and cried some more while answering these questions. So, I hope you enjoyed my emotional unraveling.

More posts to come!

Leave a Reply

